desperatedaisy

Better the devil you know?

In Midlife Rablings on September 25, 2011 at 1:11 am

At what stage of a relationship do we say enough is enough?and at what age do we realise that actually it’s a bit late  to go through the upheaval of ending a long term partnership .

When we first met didn’t he promise me the world and didn’t he say this was our last chance to get it right,at our  ages we should celebrate the fact that we had found each other and been given another shot at love.It was bliss,the chemistry was as Craig would say A ma Zing!I felt 21 again,I lost a ton of weight spent all summer getting a tan that was to die for,my Prince Charming had finally arrived.Life was good.

Fast forward 5 yrs and what do I see before me? my ex husband in disguise! Disguised would you believe as my present partner!How the hell did that happen?Ok they don’t look a like dress a like or even make love a like but there it is staring me in the face I am living the life I left behind.Gone are the romantic gestures and exciting sex and in their place indifference and lethergy.I left because I wanted a partner do things with,share things with and to feel loved by,that’s what i signed up for not to still be spending endless time alone,even more so now the children have become independent,the only difference now is that he doesn’t mind if I go out alone or with friends as long as he doesn’t have to vacate the sofa he’s a happy man!Ok he is a kinder less argumentative man but jesus what woman in her right mind wants to be with a man who either spends his free time playing golf or is velcrode to the sofa,which is groaning under the strain of constant use.Not me but what do I do now,his only real crime of late is indifference,I forgave all the major stuff while still in the love bubble!What has become obvious is the common denominator in all my failed relationships….Me. I let them treat me this way.

So what happens next?I don’t know but when I do you will be the first to hear.

  1. I’m looking forward to it, I love the way you write x

Leave a Reply

